THC Concentrate is essentially a marijuana extract. Trahydrocannabinol (THC), is the psychotropic chemical in the marijuana plant. TCH is extracted into potent levels, called Concentrate. It is much stonger than smoking marijuana, meaning less is needed to achive the same feeling.
Since Cannabis Concentrates are so strong, compared to marijuana, Texas law automatically classifies TCH Concentrates as a Felony, under Penalty Group Two.Texas Statue § 481.116 is the controlled statute, and since Marijuana Concentrate is in Penalty Group 2, possessing under one gram would be a Third Degree Felony. One to four grams is a Second Degree Felony.
While the overwhelming majority of marijuana and TCH users (legally and illegally) treat THC concentrates about the same as regular marijuana, the Texas Leglislature has not caught up. In Colorado and other "legalized" states, a person can purhcase a legal piece of candy or baked good containing THC oil or Cannabis Concentrates. But that same item in Texas is a Felony! Luckily Keates Law Firm has had recent success in getting THC oils and Marijuana Concentrate cases treated more like the old fashioned Possession of Marijuana cases.
Because Cannabis Concentrates are so potent, THC can be used in a large variety of goods. Most common in Travis County would be:
The Keates Law Firm has over 14+ Years Experience handling Possession of Marjuana cases. Our focus is to try and have the case dismissed against you. We don't even discuss pleas until all legal and negotiation options have been explored in detail.
Here are some of the benefits of hiring Keates Law Firm:
(a) Except as authorized by this chapter, a person commits an offense if the person knowingly or intentionally possesses a controlled substance listed in Penalty Group 2, unless the person obtained the substance directly from or under a valid prescription or order of a practitioner acting in the course of professional practice.
If the amount of Marijuana is less than two ounces, then it's a Class B Misdemeanor, which is punishable by a maximum of six months in jail and/or $2,000 in fines. Between 2 ounces and 4 ounces is a Class A Misdemeanor, which is punishable by a maximum of 12 months in jail and/or $4,000 in fines. Over 4 ounces of Marijuana is a felony.
|Level of Offense||Punishment|
|Class C Misdemeanor||Not Applicable|
|Class B Misdemeanor||Not Applicable|
|Class A Misdemeanor||Not Applicable|
|State jail felony||Not Applicable|
|3rd Degree Felony||2-10 Years in Prison, and/or no more than $10,000 fines|
Call for a Free Consultation